Scented playdough – a sensory experience!

Every so often I make a batch of playdough for the children – they love it and will happily play for quite a while with it, squidging and squashing it, moulding and mashing it, rolling and stretching it. We have made different colours and we have had glittery dough before but I’ve never made scented. I remember reading a couple of blogs where the writers had made chocolate playdough using cocoa and also minted playdough (using minty  tea tree shampoo I think). I decided to try 4 different types of playdough – malted, coffee, ginger and cinnamon! My kitchen smelt wonderful!

2013-06-15 11.13.35

I used a very simple, no cook basic recipe.

Playdough

2 cups of plain flour

1 cup of salt

1 tbsp. cooking oil

1/2-1 cup of cold water

Combine the flour and salt. Add the oil and the water mixing until the correct consistency is achieved.

(There is a recipe that I would like to try next time from The Imagination Tree – you can find it here)

I added the extra dry ingredients at the first step and to be honest I just played it by ear for the quantities. I used a single sachet of malted drink powder and a couple of teaspoon of finely powdered instant coffee. The cinnamon and ginger quantities were the remnants in the little jars which I realised were actually very out of date so it was a good way to use them up and replenish the stock! The finished dough was a little bit grainy but I think it added to the overall sensory experience!

2013-06-15 12.17.52                     2013-06-15 12.18.03

I didn’t add food colouring as I quite liked the different shades of beige and brown it made and this colour was perfect for what I wanted to do with it. Usually I give the children an assortment of rolling pins and cookie cutters but today I gave them the parts from our Mr Potato Head sets (facial features, hats, shoes, arms etc) and  a collection of bottle tops I have been collecting (the tops from the baby food pouches I use when we are out and about are great and come in many different colours). I added straws cut to different lengths, dried pasta shapes, dried pulses and flaked almonds (again an out of date find – I really must clear out the cupboards more often…or do more baking!)

 2013-06-15 11.13.42 2013-06-15 11.13.50 2013-06-15 11.13.56 2013-06-15 11.14.02 2013-06-15 11.14.21

I let them loose with very little guidance and here’s what they did:

2013-06-15 11.24.47              2013-06-15 11.25.01                2013-06-15 12.55.28

Leave a Reply

